Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172701

BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was September 24, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $700K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, federally recognized tribal governments and 2 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.738 (Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Aug 17, 2026
Close date
Sep 24, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$700,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

State, local, and Tribal law enforcement agencies, including prosecutors’ offices; Other Units of Local Government: For the purposes of this NOFO, other units of local government include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center (CGIC) Integration Initiative. In collaboration with DOJ’s Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), the Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative supports law enforcement agencies to establish and expand CGICs to address firearm-related crime. CGICs are an interagency collaboration focused on the timely collection, management, and analysis of crime gun evidence, such as cartridge casings and semiautomatic handguns, using ATF’s National Integrated Ballistic Information Network (NIBIN) and Electronic Tracing System (eTrace). This initiative assists local law enforcement in utilizing intelligence and technology, swiftly identifying crime guns and their sources, and effectively prosecuting perpetrators.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.738

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$340M
FY25$298M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.738. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $700k.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172701), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes todayALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today