Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172779

BJA FY 2026 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2026 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program is an open federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). Applications are due November 3, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $120K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.816 (John R. Justice Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 25, 2026Posted
  2. Nov 3, 2026Application deadlinenext date
Posted
Sep 25, 2026
Close date
Nov 3, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$120,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Other

Who can apply

  • State governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This opportunity provides loan repayment assistance for local and state prosecutors and local, state, and federal public defenders who commit to continued employment as public defenders and prosecutors for at least three years.

States receiving funding will administer statewide programs through state agencies designated by the governor by soliciting applications from eligible beneficiaries, which include local and state prosecutors and local, state, and federal public defenders (“beneficiaries”). Beneficiaries selected must commit to an additional three years of qualifying service in exchange for partial loan repayment directly to the beneficiary’s loan service provider.

Additional information from the agency ↗

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.816

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$2.53M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.816. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “BJA FY 2026 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program”?

According to the official notice, applications are due November 3, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 2026 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 2026 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $120k.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 2026 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172779), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today