HEAL Initiative: Translating Addiction Epidemiology, Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery Research into Practice (R61/R33 - Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
HEAL Initiative: Translating Addiction Epidemiology, Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery Research into Practice (R61/R33 - Clinical Trial Optional) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due February 9, 2029. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.213 (Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health) and 3 other listings.
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 4, 2026Posted
- Feb 9, 2029Application deadlinenext date
- Apr 10, 2029Archived
- Posted
- Jun 4, 2026
- Close date
- Feb 9, 2029
- Archive date
- Apr 10, 2029
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.213, not this notice): For Fiscal Years 2022 - 2023 (as of 7/20/2023), the total costs (which is the sum of the direct costs plus the facilities & administration costs) for competing grants ranged from a low of $28,500 to a high of $2,439,270. For this same time period, the average, total costs for competing grants varied based on "budget mechanism", as follows: Research Projects: $428,092 Cooperative Agreements: $1,115,156 Conference Grants: $36,180 Individual Fellowships: $45,712 Career Development: $35,992 Institutional Training: $419,354 Small Business (SBIR/STTR): $393,304
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Refer to Section III. Eligibility Information in the NOFO for additional information on eligibility.Foreign Organizations/International Collaborations:Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply.Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply.Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The goal of this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) is to address the opioid crisis and/or overdose events by supporting action-oriented research, accelerating the translation of addiction epidemiology, prevention, treatment services, and recovery research to practice. Proposed studies may target the individual, provider, organizational, community, or system level. This initiative prioritizes replicable and scalable approaches for accelerating the routine use of effective, evidence-based prevention, treatment and recovery interventions and services. The translation of research to practice and research relevant to chronic pain comorbid with substance use is also a priority. Research may deploy a variety of methods and approaches, including but not limited to identifying and characterizing malleable factors, developing and testing interventions and implementation strategies, deploying and testing collaborative data science approaches, and/or developing and testing approaches that integrate the collaboration of researchers and decision-makers at any levels (e.g., clinical-, health system-, public health- or policy-level).
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listings
What is an ALN?- 93.213Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative HealthProgram →
- 93.273Alcohol Research ProgramsProgram →
- 93.279Drug Use and Addiction Research ProgramsProgram →
- 93.866Aging ResearchProgram →
Reported obligations under ALN 93.213
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
National Institutes of Health
NIDA-26-063@nih.gov
301-402-2541
Quick answers
When is the deadline for this opportunity?
According to the official notice, applications are due February 9, 2029. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-DA-27-016), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Small Business Translator: MedTech and Digital Health Technologies
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Oct 20, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (R34 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
HEAL Initiative: Integrative Management of chronic Pain and OUD for Whole Recovery (IMPOWR) - Building Engagement, Assistance, Capacity, Outreach, and Networks (BEACON) Center (U2C Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 26, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
HEAL Initiative: Integrative Management of Chronic Pain and OUD for Whole Recovery (IMPOWR): Research Centers (RM1 Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 26, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
BRAIN Initiative: Exploratory Research Opportunities Using Invasive Neural Recording and Stimulating Technologies in the Human Brain (R61 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $700K
- Closes
- Feb 11, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Research Scientist Development Award (Parent K01 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more