Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity RFA-FD-25-007

Laboratory Flexible Funding Model (LFFM)

Food and Drug Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Laboratory Flexible Funding Model (LFFM) is an open federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Food and Drug Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due January 11, 2028. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.5M, with about 75 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, public colleges & universities and 3 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.103 (Food and Drug Administration Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Feb 6, 2025
Close date
Jan 11, 2028
Archive date
Feb 10, 2028
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
75
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Private colleges & universities

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Applicant organizations applying for product testing tracks must be accredited to ISO 17025 in at least one human or animal food testing method applicable to the discipline for which they are applying.Applicant organizations applying for tracks other than product testing must be accredited to ISO 17025 or have a quality system that ensures quality assurance and quality control of laboratory testing including but not limited to: validated methods, document control, training programs, and analyst competency requirements.Applicant organizations applying to any track other than Whole Genome Sequencing must have a valid 20.88 agreement with FDA prior to the time of application.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This cooperative agreement is intended to enhance the capacity and capabilities of state human and animal food testing laboratories in support of an integrated food safety system (IFSS). This is achieved through prioritized sample testing and food defense preparedness in the areas of microbiology, chemistry, and radiochemistry, as well as method development and capacity/capability development projects that support and expand food safety and food defense testing.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.103

Historical data · not a prediction
FY18$173M
FY19$199M
FY20$212M
FY21$219M
FY22$256M est.
FY23$247M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.103. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Stephanie Bogan Grantor
lisa.pendleton@fda.hhs.gov
3018276802

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “Laboratory Flexible Funding Model (LFFM)”?

According to the official notice, applications are due January 11, 2028. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “Laboratory Flexible Funding Model (LFFM)”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Laboratory Flexible Funding Model (LFFM)”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.5m and the agency expects to make about 75 awards.

How do I apply for “Laboratory Flexible Funding Model (LFFM)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-FD-25-007), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 93.103
Award range
Up to $250K
Closes
Jan 29, 2027
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today