Modernizing Violent Death and Suicide Surveillance Using the National Violent Death Reporting System (NVDRS)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Modernizing Violent Death and Suicide Surveillance Using the National Violent Death Reporting System (NVDRS) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of May 4, 2027; forecast dates can change. Individual awards are listed as up to $966K, with about 52 awards expected and $84.2M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.136 (Injury Prevention and Control Research and State and Community Based Programs).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Aug 20, 2026Forecast posted
- Sep 22, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
- May 4, 2027 (est.)Application deadlinenext date
- Sep 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Aug 20, 2026
- Est. close date
- May 4, 2027
- Est. award date
- Sep 1, 2027
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $966,085
- Est. total funding
- $84,166,465
- Expected awards
- 52
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2027
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants are U.S. state governments, including the District of Columbia; U.S. territorial governments; and political subdivisions of states, including county, city or township, and special district governments.Bona fide agents may apply on behalf of an eligible state, territorial, or local government organization. A bona fide agent must submit documentation demonstrating its formal arrangement with and authority to apply on behalf of the eligible governmental entity.Only one application will be funded from each eligible state or territory. Applicants must demonstrate the ability to implement statewide or territory-wide surveillance and access the data sources required for the National Violent Death Reporting System, including death certificates, coroner or medical examiner reports, including toxicology reports, and law enforcement reports.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The National Violent Death Reporting System (NVDRS) is CDC's state-based surveillance system for violent deaths and suicides. NVDRS combines information from death certificates, coroner or medical examiner reports, including toxicology reports, and law enforcement reports to provide comprehensive, incident-level data on the circumstances surrounding violent deaths.
Through this Notice of Funding Opportunity, CDC will support eligible state, territorial, and local government entities, or their bona fide agents, in operating and modernizing NVDRS. Recipients will conduct statewide or territory-wide surveillance by collecting, linking, managing, analyzing, and submitting high-quality data on violent deaths and suicides.
A central focus of this NOFO is timely and complete data reporting through two coordinated reporting processes: quarterly provisional data pulls and annual data closeout. Beginning in Year 1, recipients will prepare data for CDC's quarterly provisional data pulls to support earlier access to preliminary, actionable information. Recipients will progressively update case records as additional source documents and information become available.
Annual data closeout is the primary process for producing the complete, finalized, and validated NVDRS dataset for each data year. Recipients must ensure that all eligible cases are fully abstracted, updated, validated, and completed using all required and available data sources by the annual closeout deadline. The finalized annual dataset supports national reporting, analysis, dissemination, and public health action.
This NOFO also emphasizes modernization of data systems and workflows to increase efficiency, reduce reporting burden, improve data quality and timeliness, and enhance data usability. All recipients will complete a modernization readiness assessment within six months of award and implement at least one modernization pilot during the period of performance. Pilot activities may include automated data import and extraction, electronic data exchange and interoperability, workflow automation, data-quality tools, and enhanced data analysis and visualization.
With CDC approval, recipients may also participate in optional activities that link NVDRS data with other relevant data systems to improve surveillance and expand public health insights.
The intended outcome is a sustainable, modernized national surveillance system that produces timely provisional data and complete, reliable, high-quality annual data to inform violence and suicide prevention and support public health action.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.136
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Gabraelle Lane
xkp4@cdc.gov
770-488-7744
Quick answers
Is this opportunity open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around September 22, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $966k, total estimated program funding is $84,166,465 and the agency expects to make about 52 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-CE-27-0006), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Supporting Community Application of Life-Saving Evidence to Prevent Injury and Violence (SCALE)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Apr 6, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- $650K – $1.2M
- Est. close
- Apr 17, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Preventing Violence Affecting Young Lives (PREVAYL 2.0)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- $450K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments and City or township governments
Preventing Suicide and Interpersonal Violence Among Youth and Young Adults
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $500K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
New Investigator Grants to Conduct Research to Prevent Interpersonal Violence and Suicide Among Children and Adolescents (K01)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $150K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more