Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of April 17, 2027; forecast dates can change. Individual awards are listed as $650K – $1.2M, with about 26 awards expected and $118M in total estimated funding. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.136 (Injury Prevention and Control Research and State and Community Based Programs).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Posted
- Jul 27, 2026
- Est. close date
- Apr 17, 2027
- Est. award date
- Aug 15, 2027
- Award floor
- $650,000
- Award ceiling
- $1,200,000
- Est. total funding
- $117,500,000
- Expected awards
- 26
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2027
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
The NOFO award floor is $650,000. The award ceiling is $1,200,000. CDC will consider applications less than $650,000 or more than $1,200,000 nonresponsive. They will receive no further review. Funding level and number of recipients will be based on availability of funds. Eligible applications must include the following to be responsive: 1. 1 Letter of Commitment (LOC) from state or territorial health department leadership, on official letterhead, endorsing the proposed activities and confirming the department's ability to carry them out.2. 1 Letter of Support (LOS) from the jurisdiction's suicide-related morbidity and mortality surveillance data system manager, on official letterhead, confirming data access, support identifying Focus Prevention Areas (FPAs), and willingness to collaborate on data sharing and analyses.3. 1 LOS from the jurisdiction's suicide-related syndromic surveillance data system manager, on official letterhead, confirming data access and support tracking near real-time nonfatal suicide-related outcomes, such as suicide attempts and suicidal ideation, that may be of public health significance.4. 3 LOS from partner organizations assisting with proposed activities, one for each tier: Tier 1: community-based interventions; Tier 2:healthcare-related interventions; Tier 3:structural interventions. Each letter must describe specific planned roles and contributions. General statements of support are nonresponsive.5. 2 LOS from multi-sector partners, such as AFSP chapters, suicide prevention coalitions, or organizations working with survivors or people personally affected by suicide. 6. 1 preliminary program organizational chart showing required staffing: 0.25 FTE program manager, 0.75 FTE epidemiologist, 0.5 FTE behavioral specialist, 0.5 FTE communications specialist, and 0.5 FTE evaluation specialist.Applicants must submit the LOC, LOS, preliminary DUA, and organizational chart as PDFs in Grants.gov using these filenames: "HealthDepartmentLeadership.LOC," "SuicideDataManager.LoS," "SyndromicDataManager.LoS," "Tier1Partner.LoS," "Tier2Partner.LoS," "Tier3Partner.LoS," "MultiSectorPartner1.LoS," "MultiSectorPartner2.LoS," and "Organizational Chart." Applications that do not meet these criteria will be considered nonresponsive and will not move forward for review.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This forecast is for CDC's Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States, a cooperative agreement intended to support implementation and evaluation of a comprehensive public health approach to suicide prevention in the United States. Funded recipients will focus on one or more Focus Prevention Areas (FPAs), groups or settings identified through available data as experiencing a significant suicide burden, higher suicide morbidity or mortality rates or emerging suicide-related trends. Examples may include veterans, people living in rural areas, youth, older adults, men, and members of occupational groups at elevated risk, such as construction, agriculture and public safety workers.
Recipients will use timely and relevant data to identify FPAs, understand contributors to suicide and suicidal behavior, monitor emerging trends, and guide prevention planning and response. Recipients will also assess existing suicide prevention programs and gaps in their jurisdiction, strengthen and coordinate multi-sector partnerships, select and implement complementary prevention strategies and approaches with the best available evidence from CDC's Suicide Prevention Resource for Action and communicate programmatic and surveillance findings, progress, successes and lessons learned to partners and other key audiences.
The comprehensive approach is expected to include partnership development, data use, an asset and gap inventory, implementation of evidence-informed strategies or approaches, evaluation and communication activities. Recipients will evaluate their approach with a focus on continuous quality improvement, sustainability and measurable outcomes. Key outcomes include increased partner engagement, increased use of surveillance data for decision-making, improved coordination of comprehensive suicide prevention within the jurisdiction, reduced suicide risk factors and increased protective factors among selected FPAs, reduced suicide morbidity and a 5% reduction in suicide mortality among selected FPAs over the period of performance.
Applications are not being solicited at this time. This forecast is provided to allow potential applicants time to begin planning, review relevant data, identify potential FPAs and consider partnerships and prevention strategies that may align with this anticipated opportunity.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.136
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
A.Philipose
CSP@cdc.gov
Refer to Email address
Quick answers
Is “Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States” open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around February 16, 2027. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for “Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States”?
The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.
How much funding is available through “Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $650k – $1.2m, total estimated program funding is $117,500,000 and the agency expects to make about 26 awards.
How do I apply for “Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-CE-27-0024), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Supporting Community Application of Life-Saving Evidence to Prevent Injury and Violence (SCALE)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Apr 6, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Preventing Violence Affecting Young Lives (PREVAYL 2.0)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- $450K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments and City or township governments
Modernizing Violent Death and Suicide Surveillance Using the National Violent Death Reporting System (NVDRS)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Up to $966K
- Est. close
- May 4, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Rigorously Evaluating Approaches to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Problematic Sexual Behavior among Youth
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $400K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Preventing Suicide and Interpersonal Violence Among Youth and Young Adults
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $500K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more