Industrial Assessment Centers
At a glance
Industrial Assessment Centers is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Golden Field Office (Department of Energy). The application deadline was August 2, 2011. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 81.117 (Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Information Dissemination, Outreach, Training and Technical Analysis/Assistance).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Posted
- Jun 14, 2011
- Close date
- Aug 2, 2011
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities
- Private colleges & universities
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) will result in the selection of 20 to 30 universities as Industrial Assessment Centers (IACs) based on a competitive selection process. The Federal Government has been funding the IAC program ? formerly called the Energy Analysis and Diagnostic Center program ? since 1976. The IAC program is a major workforce development initiative aimed at creating the next generation energy engineers possessing a unique mixture of engineering and energy management expertise, combined with hands-on experience obtained by working directly with small and medium sized industrial and manufacturing facilities across the country. Each IAC will provide extensive training for undergraduate and graduate engineering students in industrial processes, energy assessment procedures, and energy management principles. Led by IAC-related faculty and staff, these IAC students will perform energy assessments for small and medium si
zed manufacturers in their geographic region, which will result in energy savings, waste reduction, and sustainability and productivity improvements for the manufacturers and real-world experience for the students. Moreover, the students will interact with plant and corporate management; prepare executive-level briefings and plant-specific reports containing detailed recommendations for operational and energy management improvement; and through follow-on activities, facilitate continuous improvement in energy management at these facilities.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 81.117
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Golden Field Office
iac@go.doe.gov
720-356-1478
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Industrial Assessment Centers”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How do I apply for “Industrial Assessment Centers”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity DE-FOA-0000490), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
NOI: PROSPECT Program: Providing Opportunities for Specialized Education in Critical Technologies
Golden Field Office- Award range
- $1
- Closes
- Jan 15, 2027
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Accelerating Scale-up and Pre-piloting of Emerging Chemical Technologies (ASPECT)
Golden Field Office- Award range
- $2M – $20M
- Closes
- Dec 1, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
- Award range
- Up to $2M
- Closes
- Oct 9, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments and 6 more
Annual Recurring University Training and Research
National Energy Technology Laboratory- Award range
- $1 – $750K
- Closes
- Oct 16, 2026
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program
Idaho Field Office- Award range
- $5K – $8M
- Closes
- Nov 30, 2026
- Who can apply
- County governments, City or township governments, Public colleges & universities and 5 more
Silicon Carbide Cladding Lead Test Rod Development-Phase 1
Idaho Field Office- Award range
- Up to $62.5M
- Closes
- Dec 7, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more