Dental Clinician Educator Career Development Program
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Dental Clinician Educator Career Development Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was February 14, 2022. Total estimated funding is $1.5M across about 8 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.976 (Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry Clinician Educator Career Development Awards).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Nov 22, 2021Posted
- Feb 14, 2022Application deadline
- Posted
- Nov 22, 2021
- Close date
- Feb 14, 2022
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $1,500,000
- Implied average award
- $187,500 calculated
- Expected awards
- 8
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.976, not this notice): Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry Clinician Educator Career Development Program Medicine FY 2023: Range $176,664 to $187,500; Average $182,201 FY 2024: Range $180,629 to $187,500; Average $185,279 FY 2025: est Range $166,357 to $187,500; est Average $181,324 Primary Care Dental Faculty Development Program FY 2023: Range $664,042; Average $664,042 FY 2024: Range $664,042; Average $664,042 FY 2025 est: Range: $664,042; est Average $664,042
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicant organizations include domestic accredited schools of dentistry, public or private nonprofit hospitals, or public or private nonprofit entities which the Secretary has determined are capable of carrying out such grant or contract such as an academic health center which holds its own accreditation for a primary care dental residency program. See 42 U.S.C. § 293k-2(a)(1) (Section 748(a)(1) of the Public Health Service Act). Domestic faith-based and community-based organizations federally recognized Indian tribes and tribal organizations are also eligible to apply, if otherwise eligible. The applicant institutions must be accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) at the time of this application. HRSA will check the CODA website for accreditation confirmation.
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Dental Clinician Educator Career Development Program. The purpose of this program is to strengthen the primary care workforce by supporting the academic career development of dental faculty [Doctors of Dental Surgery (DDS), Doctors of Dental Medicine (DMD), Dental Hygienists (DH)] who teach primary care dentistry (general dentistry, pediatric dentistry or dental public health) and primary care physicians (MD, DO) via a collaborative project between department(s) of general, pediatric or public health dentistry and a department of primary care medicine (family medicine, general pediatrics, general internal medicine). Awards are made to successful applicant institutions to strengthen the primary care workforce by supporting the academic career of faculty who teach primary care dentistry (general dentistry, pediatric dentistry or dental public health) or focus their teaching on the integration of oral health in family medicine, general internal medicine or general pediatrics.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.976
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
JHoltzman@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Dental Clinician Educator Career Development Program”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Dental Clinician Educator Career Development Program”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $1,500,000 and the agency expects to make about 8 awards.
How do I apply for “Dental Clinician Educator Career Development Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-22-049), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Forecast to Publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity for Academic Career Excellence (ACE) Award (K32 - Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 12, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Forecast to Publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity for Paul Calabresi Career Development Award in Clinical Oncology (K12 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 18, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Administrative and Resource Center
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- May 25, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Coordinating Center
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jun 5, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Clinical Trial or Observational Study Planning and Implementation Cooperative Agreement
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Sep 7, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NCI Research Specialist (Clinician Scientist) Award (R50 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Nov 2, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more