Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedOpportunity PAR-26-052

Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Clinical Trial or Observational Study Planning and Implementation Cooperative Agreement

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Clinical Trial or Observational Study Planning and Implementation Cooperative Agreement is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of September 7, 2026; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.121 (Oral Diseases and Disorders Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Aug 28, 2025Forecast posted
  2. Mar 2, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. Sep 7, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Apr 30, 2027 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Aug 28, 2025
Est. close date
Sep 7, 2026
Est. award date
Apr 30, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
3
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to invite applications for clinical trials and large clinical observational studies to be conducted in a Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network (PBRN). Research studies will utilize the Dental Primary Care PBRN infrastructure and resources for study planning and implementation. The Dental Primary Care PBRN will provide oral health practitioners with an opportunity to propose or participate in research studies, conducted in participating dental clinical practices (offices/clinics) with consenting patients. Supported studies will focus on integrating oral health care into medical care (whole-person health), such as screening for medical conditions and health behaviors in dental care settings and appropriate referrals to medical providers for follow-up care. Applications are not being solicited at this time. Notice is being provided to allow potential applicants time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive projects. Investigators with expertise in observational studies or clinical trials in practice-based research settings are encouraged to apply. NIDCR is authorized to forecast this opportunity under the Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C §§ 241 and 284) and federal regulations (42 CFR Part 52 and 2 CFR Part 200).

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.121

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$320M
FY25$332M
FY26$337M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.121. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Dena Fischer, DDS, MSD, MS
dena.fischer@nih.gov
301-594-4876

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around March 2, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-26-052), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.