Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-DE-27-004

Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Coordinating Center

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Coordinating Center is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of June 5, 2026; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.121 (Oral Diseases and Disorders Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Aug 28, 2025Forecast posted
  2. Mar 2, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. Jun 5, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Apr 30, 2027 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Aug 28, 2025
Est. close date
Jun 5, 2026
Est. award date
Apr 30, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.121, not this notice): FY2023: research project grants: range $10,355-$3,198,621, average $493,453; NRSA: range $12,200-$645,669, average $102,286; SBIR/STTR: range $44,553-$1,265,448, average $734,953; Career development: range $19,566-$283,536, average $151,550. FY2024: research project grants: range $14,491-$3,134,285, average $499,286; NRSA: range $2,500-$689,065, average $117,487; SBIR/STTR: range $44,553-$1,493,635, average $721,489; Career development: range $12,905-$282,170, average $156,332.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to promote practice-based research through a Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network (PBRN). This NOFO will invite applications for a Coordinating Center, to support the infrastructure for the planning and implementation of multiple observational studies and clinical trials, together with an Administrative and Resource Center, described in a separate companion NOFO. Supported studies will focus on integrating oral health care into medical care (whole-person health). The Coordinating Center will be responsible for managing the network membership database and developing and maintaining centralized data management systems that utilize flexible and innovative technologies for electronic data capture, including collecting research participant data independent of in-office visits. Applications are not being solicited at this time. Notice is being provided to allow potential applicants time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive projects. Investigators with expertise in data coordination/management and conducting clinical research in practice-based research settings are encouraged to apply. NIDCR is authorized to forecast this opportunity under the Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C §§ 241 and 284) and federal regulations (42 CFR Part 52 and 2 CFR Part 200).

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.121

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$320M
FY25$332M
FY26$337M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.121. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Dena Fischer, DDS, MSD, MS
dena.fischer@nih.gov
301-594-4876

Quick answers

Is “Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Coordinating Center” open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around March 2, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for “Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Coordinating Center”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for “Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Coordinating Center”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-DE-27-004), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.