Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity NOT-HD-25-007

Notice of Intent to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for HIV Pediatric, Adolescent and Maternal Clinical Trials

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Notice of Intent to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for HIV Pediatric, Adolescent and Maternal Clinical Trials is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of March 25, 2026; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $30M across about 2 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, independent school districts, public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments and 6 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.865 (Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jun 25, 2025Forecast posted
  2. Nov 21, 2025 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. Mar 25, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Dec 1, 2026 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Jun 25, 2025
Est. close date
Mar 25, 2026
Est. award date
Dec 1, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$30,000,000
Implied average award
$15,000,000 calculated
Expected awards
2
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.865, not this notice): For research project grants, fiscal year 2024, range is $50,000 to $5,000,000; average is $534,606. Individual research fellowship awards: Basic stipend (first year beyond the doctoral degree) of approximately $45,000. The sponsoring institution will be provided, on application, with an allowance of up to approximately $8,000 per year to help defray the cost of training. No dependency allowances. SBIR: Average Phase I awards are for approximately $225,000 (grant activity R43 - for up to six months); Phase II awards may be made for amounts up to $1,500,000 (grant activity R44 - for up to two years).

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to solicit applications for research focused on high-priority HIV studies for infants, children, youth and young adults (AYA), and maternal populations. An HIV clinical trials network focused exclusively on pediatric and maternal populations will innovate and conduct rigorously designed, collaborative clinical trials in partnership with site consortia to address high-priority research areas in HIV and related comorbidities and coinfections. Applications are not being solicited at this time. Notice is being provided to allow potential applicants sufficient time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive projects. This NOFO will utilize the UM2 activity code. Investigators with expertise and insights into this area of HIV are encouraged to begin to consider applying for this new NOFO. In addition, collaborative investigations combining expertise in chronic and infectious diseases, pediatrics, adolescent medicine, laboratory innovation, and cost-effectiveness will be encouraged and these investigators should also begin considering applying for this application. 

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.865

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.28B
FY25$1.33B
FY26$185M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.865. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.865

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 6,805 grant awards had funding actions under Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research, with 5,427 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$111M
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON$99.9M
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$92.1M
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$77M
  5. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$74.4M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Sonia Lee, PhD Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Sonia.lee@nih.gov
301-594-4783

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around November 21, 2025. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Small businesses. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $30,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 2 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity NOT-HD-25-007), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedResearchALN 93.865
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Mar 2, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday