Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2023-171580

BJA FY 23 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 23 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 4, 2023. Individual awards are listed as up to $1M, with about 15 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments and public colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.820 (Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Feb 9, 2023
Close date
Apr 4, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
15
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Public colleges & universities

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and racial equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety and protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

With this solicitation, BJA seeks to fund proposals for projects that will defray the costs associated with postconviction DNA testing in cases of violent felony offenses (as defined by state law) in which actual innocence might be demonstrated. The Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence Program also provides funds to assist in defraying the costs associated with postconviction case review and evidence location in these cases.

This program is one of several forensic science programs that moved from the National Institute of Justice to BJA in FY 2020. For a complete list and additional information about these programs, visit https://bja.ojp.gov/topics/forensic-sciences.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.820

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$17.5M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.820. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 23 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments and Public colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 23 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1m and the agency expects to make about 15 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 23 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2023-171580), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes todayALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today