Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Jul 10, 2024)Opportunity O-BJA-2024-171974

BJA FY24 Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners Program Formula Grant Solicitation

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY24 Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners Program Formula Grant Solicitation is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was July 30, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $2.55M, with about 56 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.593 (Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. May 8, 2024Posted
  2. Jul 30, 2024Application deadline
Posted
May 8, 2024
Close date
Jul 30, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,554,917
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
Jul 10, 2024
Expected awards
56
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Other

Who can apply

  • State governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) seeks applications for funding.OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety, protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.With this solicitation, BJA seeks to increase access to treatment through the Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners Program (RSAT) to individuals with substance use or co-occurring substance use and mental health disorders during detention or incarceration and to improve continuity of care during and after reentry by delivering community-based treatment and other broad-based aftercare services. This program furthers the DOJ’s mission to uphold the rule of law, to keep our country safe, and to protect civil rights.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.593

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$30.1M
FY25$665K
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.593. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.593

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 218 grant awards had funding actions under Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners, with 326 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. TEXAS OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR$4.81M
  2. CALIFORNIA BOARD OF STATE AND COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS$3.33M
  3. FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT$2.73M
  4. CRIMINAL JUSTICE COORDINATING COUNCIL$1.78M
  5. OHIO OFFICE OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES$1.64M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2.55m and the agency expects to make about 56 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-171974), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.585

BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today