Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2024-172088

BJA FY24 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY24 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was July 26, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $500K, with about 56 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.816 (John R. Justice Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
May 29, 2024
Close date
Jul 26, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
56
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

For the purposes of this notice of funding opportunity, “other” means state and U.S. territory government agencies designated by their governor (or the mayor of the District of Columbia) to administer the JRJ Grant Program.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety, protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

With this solicitation, BJA seeks to make funding available to state agencies designated by the governor to improve the recruitment and retention of local, state, and federal public defenders and local and state prosecutors (“beneficiaries”). States receiving funding will administer statewide John R. Justice Programs (JRJ) programs by soliciting applications from eligible beneficiaries. Beneficiaries selected must commit to an additional three years of qualifying service in exchange for partial loan repayment directly to the beneficiary’s loan service provider.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.816

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$2.53M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.816. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY24 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY24 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $500k and the agency expects to make about 56 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY24 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-172088), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes todayALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today