Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Jul 22, 2024)Opportunity O-BJA-2024-172156

BJA FY24 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program Formula Solicitation

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY24 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program Formula Solicitation is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was July 24, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $16.6M, with about 56 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.738 (Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. May 28, 2024Posted
  2. Jul 24, 2024Application deadline
Posted
May 28, 2024
Close date
Jul 24, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$16,611,430
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
Jul 22, 2024
Expected awards
56
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) seeks applications for formula funding under the Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program (Byrne SCIP). Byrne SCIP provides funding for the creation and/or implementation of extreme risk protection order (ERPO) programs, state crisis intervention court proceedings, and related programs/initiatives. This program furthers DOJ’s mission by assisting state, local, and tribal efforts to prevent or reduce crime and violence, with a particular focus on gun violence and the programs and initiatives that target the risk factors that are likely to lead to this kind of violence.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.738

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$340M
FY25$298M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.738. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY24 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program Formula Solicitation”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY24 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program Formula Solicitation”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $16.6m and the agency expects to make about 56 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY24 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program Formula Solicitation”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-172156), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.