Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Apr 20, 2026)Opportunity O-BJA-2025-172576

BJA FY25 Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners – Formula Grants Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY25 Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners – Formula Grants Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 25, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.21M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.593 (Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 26, 2026Posted
  2. Apr 25, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Mar 26, 2026
Close date
Apr 25, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,207,840
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
Apr 20, 2026
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This NOFO provides formula grant funding to enhance the capabilities of state, local, and tribal governments to support residential substance use disorder (SUD) treatment to adult and juvenile populations during detention or incarceration, initiate or continue evidence-based SUD treatment in jails, prepare individuals for reintegration into the community, and assist them and their communities throughout the reentry process by delivering community-based treatment and other recovery aftercare services. This program supports the establishment and maintenance of drug-free prisons and jails and development and implementation of specialized residential SUD treatment for individuals with co-occurring mental health and substance use disorders.

This NOFO will increase access to treatment for individuals with substance use or co-occurring substance use and mental health disorders during detention or incarceration and improve continuity of care during and after reentry by delivering community-based treatment and other broad-based aftercare services. This opportunity is only open to State Governments.

OJP is committed to advancing work that furthers DOJ’s mission to uphold the rule of law, to keep our country safe, and to protect civil rights. OJP provides federal leadership, funding, and other critical resources to directly support law enforcement, combat violent crime, protect American children, provide services to American crime victims, and address public safety challenges, including human trafficking and the opioid crisis.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.593

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$30.1M
FY25$665K
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.593. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.21m.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2025-172576), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.585

BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today