Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2025-172582

BJA FY25 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Formula Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY25 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Formula Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 12, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $14.7M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.738 (Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Apr 15, 2026Posted
  2. May 12, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Apr 15, 2026
Close date
May 12, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$14,672,296
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Other

Who can apply

  • State governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that furthers DOJ’s mission to uphold the rule of law, to keep our country safe, and to protect civil rights. OJP provides federal leadership, funding, and other critical resources to directly support law enforcement, combat violent crime, protect American children, provide services to American crime victims, and address public safety challenges, including human trafficking and the opioid crisis. As authorized by the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act of 2022, this NOFO will provide funding for the creation or enhancement of state crisis intervention court proceedings and related programs or initiatives, including extreme risk protection order (ERPO) programs, as well as mental health courts, drug courts, and veterans treatment courts. Only state governments are eligible to apply, as detailed in the notice of funding opportunity.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.738

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$340M
FY25$298M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.738. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY25 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Formula Program”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY25 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Formula Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $14.7m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY25 Byrne State Crisis Intervention Formula Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2025-172582), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.