NARMS Cooperative Agreement Program to Strengthen Antibiotic Resistance Surveillance in Retail Food Specimens
Food and Drug Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
NARMS Cooperative Agreement Program to Strengthen Antibiotic Resistance Surveillance in Retail Food Specimens is an open federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Food and Drug Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due April 1, 2027. Individual awards are listed as up to $200K, with about 35 awards expected and $5M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.103 (Food and Drug Administration Research).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jul 11, 2025Posted
- Apr 1, 2027Application deadlinenext date
- May 1, 2027Archived
- Posted
- Jul 11, 2025
- Close date
- Apr 1, 2027
- Archive date
- May 1, 2027
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $200,000
- Est. total funding
- $5,000,000
- Expected awards
- 35
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible Organizations Higher Education Institutions Public/State Controlled Institutions of Higher Education Private Institutions of Higher Education Nonprofits Other Than Institutions of Higher Education Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) IRS Status (Other than Institutions of Higher Education) Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) IRS Status (Other than Institutions of Higher Education) For-Profit Organizations Small Businesses For-Profit Organizations (Other than Small Businesses) Local Governments State Governments County Governments City or Township Governments Special District Governments Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Federally Recognized) Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized) Federal Governments Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government U.S. Territory or Possession Other Independent School Districts Public Housing Authorities/Indian Housing Authorities Native American Tribal Organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments) Faith-based or Community-based Organizations Regional Organizations Foreign Organizations Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) issued by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM), builds upon the National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System (NARMS) which was initiated in 1996 as one of the key activities in a national action plan to combat antibiotic resistance threats. The purpose of this FOA is to protect and promote public health by enhancing, strengthening, and sustaining antibiotic resistance surveillance in retail food specimens within the NARMS program. The NARMS cooperative agreement is intended to improve the detection of antibiotic resistance among bacteria in food commodities, as well as expand to new sites to expand the scope of sampling. Measurable outcomes of the program will be in alignment with the NARMS Objectives.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.103
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.103
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 991 grant awards had funding actions under Food and Drug Administration Research, with 430 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- THE CRITICAL PATH INSTITUTE$56.2M
- NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION$39.7M
- ASSOCIATION OF FOOD & DRUG OFFICIALS$29.5M
- DUKE UNIVERSITY$19.1M
- THE MEDICAL DEVICE INNOVATION CONSORTIUM$15.6M
Agency contact (as published)
Stephanie Bogan Grantor
jenise.mcnair@fda.hhs.gov
3018276802
Quick answers
When is the deadline for this opportunity?
According to the official notice, applications are due April 1, 2027. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $200k, total estimated program funding is $5,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 35 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-25-014), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Animal Food Regulatory Program Standards Implementation Development and Maintenance, with Mutual Reliance Initiatives Clinical Trials Not Allowed
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- Up to $300K
- Closes
- Apr 1, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments
Laboratory Flexible Funding Model (LFFM)
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- Up to $1.5M
- Closes
- Jan 11, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Vet-LIRN Capacity-Building Project and Equipment Grants (U18)
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- $225K – $2.5M
- Closes
- Sep 4, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Retail Food Safety Regulatory Association Collaboration
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Federal and State Integration Activities to Advance Cooperation and Regulatory Standards Among Animal Food Safety Regulatory Programs
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Retail Food Safety Regulatory Association Collaboration CAP
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- $4M
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)