Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity PAR-26-113

NEI Center Core Grant for Vision Research (P30 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

NEI Center Core Grant for Vision Research (P30 Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is a forecasted federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of September 25, 2026; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, private colleges & universities and for-profit organizations (not small businesses). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.867 (Vision Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 9, 2026Forecast posted
  2. Jul 25, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. Sep 25, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Feb 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Mar 9, 2026
Est. close date
Sep 25, 2026
Est. award date
Feb 1, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.867, not this notice): FOR 2023: Research Grants (R): $12,400 to $2,178,277; Avg $422,981. Cooperative Agreements: $10,980 to $7,324,750; Avg $1,067,398. Centers (P): $400,718 to $949,680; Avg $677,851. K (Institutional): $183,986 to $545,160; Avg $454,904. K (Individual): $15,332 to $277,133; Avg $177,182. NRSA (Institutional): $28,815 to $272,894; Avg $142,678. NRSA (Individual): $2,500 to $78,552; Avg $47,548. SBIR Phase I: $54,475 to $350,075; Avg $270,429. SBIR Phase II: $245,829 to $1,907,135; Avg $768,574. STTR Phase I: $149,664 to $341,302; Avg $273,829. STTR Phase II: $289,895 to $537,483; Avg $402,459. SBIR/STTR Phase III: none. FOR 2024 YTD: Research Grants (R): $4,455 to $2,153,230; Avg $428,107. Cooperative Agreements: $81,518 to $8,942,823; Avg $1,283,922. Centers (P): $161,000 to $947,710; Avg $654,204. K (Institutional): $285,890 to $562,320; Avg $478,162. K (Individual): $21,767 to $280,704; Avg $175,903. NRSA (Institutional): $29,506 to $555,162; Avg $144,608. NRSA (Individual): $3,000 to $81,892; Avg $51,319. SBIR Phase I: $54,709 to $365,000; Avg $259,725. SBIR Phase II: $52,865 to $1,093,927; Avg $821,791. STTR Phase I: $180,642 to $180,642; Avg $180,642. STTR Phase II: $615,858 to $975,387; Avg $767,351. SBIR/STTR Phase III: none YTD.

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The goal of these institutional Center Core Grants is to build research infrastructure within an institution for the purpose of providing technical support to groups of NEI R01-funded investigators. The NEI Center Core Grant combines three or more Resource and/or Service Cores for a group of R01 investigators to enhance their research, consolidate resources, avoid duplication of efforts, and/or contribute to cost effectiveness by providing a service with lower costs or higher quality than could be attempted for independent projects by several individual Program Directors/Principal Investigators (PD(s)/PI(s)). Shared resources and facilities that are accessible to a group of independently funded investigators lead to greater productivity for the separate projects and can provide instrumentation and facilities that are too costly to be maintained by an individual investigator. The design and purpose of each Center Core may vary in how it serves its users. This program is designed to enhance an institution's environment and capability to conduct vision research and to facilitate collaborative studies of the visual system and its disorders and promote new research within the NEI mission and Strategic Plan.  Grants are required to have an administrative core and three or more resource and/or service cores. Any researcher at the institute can use the core facilities.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.867

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$696M
FY25$703M
FY26$864K est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.867. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.867

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 3,582 grant awards had funding actions under Vision Research, with 1,346 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$81.2M
  2. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY$63.4M
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$55.1M
  4. JAEB CENTER FOR HEALTH RESEARCH FOUNDATION, INC.$52.2M
  5. DUKE UNIVERSITY$46.7M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

NEI Extramural Programs
NEI_extramural@nih.gov
Please contact via e-mail.

Quick answers

Is “NEI Center Core Grant for Vision Research (P30 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)” open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around July 25, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for “NEI Center Core Grant for Vision Research (P30 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and For-profit organizations (not small businesses). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for “NEI Center Core Grant for Vision Research (P30 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-26-113), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedResearchALN 93.867
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
May 25, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today