Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity PAR-26-119

NEI Collaborative Clinical Vision Research (UG1 - Clinical Trial Optional)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

NEI Collaborative Clinical Vision Research (UG1 - Clinical Trial Optional) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of September 25, 2026; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.867 (Vision Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 3, 2026Forecast posted
  2. Jul 25, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. Sep 25, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Jun 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Mar 3, 2026
Est. close date
Sep 25, 2026
Est. award date
Jun 1, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.867, not this notice): FOR 2023: Research Grants (R): $12,400 to $2,178,277; Avg $422,981. Cooperative Agreements: $10,980 to $7,324,750; Avg $1,067,398. Centers (P): $400,718 to $949,680; Avg $677,851. K (Institutional): $183,986 to $545,160; Avg $454,904. K (Individual): $15,332 to $277,133; Avg $177,182. NRSA (Institutional): $28,815 to $272,894; Avg $142,678. NRSA (Individual): $2,500 to $78,552; Avg $47,548. SBIR Phase I: $54,475 to $350,075; Avg $270,429. SBIR Phase II: $245,829 to $1,907,135; Avg $768,574. STTR Phase I: $149,664 to $341,302; Avg $273,829. STTR Phase II: $289,895 to $537,483; Avg $402,459. SBIR/STTR Phase III: none. FOR 2024 YTD: Research Grants (R): $4,455 to $2,153,230; Avg $428,107. Cooperative Agreements: $81,518 to $8,942,823; Avg $1,283,922. Centers (P): $161,000 to $947,710; Avg $654,204. K (Institutional): $285,890 to $562,320; Avg $478,162. K (Individual): $21,767 to $280,704; Avg $175,903. NRSA (Institutional): $29,506 to $555,162; Avg $144,608. NRSA (Individual): $3,000 to $81,892; Avg $51,319. SBIR Phase I: $54,709 to $365,000; Avg $259,725. SBIR Phase II: $52,865 to $1,093,927; Avg $821,791. STTR Phase I: $180,642 to $180,642; Avg $180,642. STTR Phase II: $615,858 to $975,387; Avg $767,351. SBIR/STTR Phase III: none YTD.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations;Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions).

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The NEI uses UG1 cooperative agreement awards to support investigator-initiated clinical vision research projects, including multi-center clinical trials, human gene-transfer, stem cell therapy trials, epidemiological studies, and other studies that are complex, high resource, or that require increased oversight due to elevated safety considerations.

These collaborative clinical vision research projects would address chronic diseases across the lifespan through research on the burden of eye and vision conditions, their causes, diagnoses, prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation.  These projects are multifaceted and of high public health significance, requiring careful oversight and monitoring by National Institutes of Health (NIH) staff.  

The intent of this funding opportunity announcement is to provide a collaborative framework for the following components: Chair's Grant, Coordinating Center, and Resource Center(s).

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.867

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$696M
FY25$703M
FY26$864K est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.867. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

NEI Extramural
NEI_extramural@nih.gov
Please contact via e-mail

Quick answers

Is “NEI Collaborative Clinical Vision Research (UG1 - Clinical Trial Optional)” open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around July 25, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for “NEI Collaborative Clinical Vision Research (UG1 - Clinical Trial Optional)”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for “NEI Collaborative Clinical Vision Research (UG1 - Clinical Trial Optional)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-26-119), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedResearchALN 93.867
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
May 25, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today