Assistance Listing 93.059
Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry
Department of Health and Human Services · Health Resources and Services Administration
Assistance Listing 93.059, “Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry,” is a federal program administered by Department of Health and Human Services. It provides grant assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 0 open, 0 forecasted and 3 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $23.3M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.
Program objective
The purpose of the Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry and Dental Hygiene programs is to improve access to and the delivery of oral health care services for all individuals, particularly low income, underserved, uninsured, minority, health disparity, and rural populations by increasing the supply of a qualified dental workforce and enhancing dental workforce education and training. This is addressed through the implementation of the following programs: 1) Predoctoral Training in General, Pediatric and Public Health Dentistry and Dental Hygiene; 2) Postdoctoral Training in General, Pediatric and Public Health Dentistry; and 3) the Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program.
As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.
Current opportunities under 93.059
No open or forecasted opportunities are currently posted under this listing. Programs often post notices on an annual cycle — see recently closed opportunities below for timing.
Eligible applicants (program level)
- State
- Not-for-Profit Organization
- Local
- Nonprofit Organization
- Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government
Eligible applicants include accredited schools of dentistry and dental hygiene, postdoctoral training programs in general, pediatric, or public health dentistry that have programs in dental schools, or approved residency or advanced education programs in the practice of general dentistry, pediatric dentistry, or dental public health. Public or non-profit hospitals, or other public or private not-for-profit entities including faith-based and community-based organizations, community colleges, as well as Tribes and Tribal organizations, are eligible provided they are otherwise eligible and the Secretary has determined they are capable of carrying out such grants.
Intended beneficiaries: Graduate and Professional Higher Education, State, Nonprofit Organization, Not-for-Profit Organization, Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government, Health Professional and Trainee.
Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.
Reported obligations by fiscal year
Historical data · not a predictionRange and average of financial assistance (from the listing): Postdoctoral Training in General, Pediatric and Public Health Dentistry FY 23 Range: $405,941 to $650,000; Average award: $526,294 FY 24 Range $392,612 to $650,000, Average award: $512,938 FY 25 est Range $400,000 -$450,000; Average Award: $450,000 Predoctoral Training in General, Pediatric and Public Health Dentistry and Dental Hygiene FY 23: Range: $292.626 to $300,000; Average award: $298,660 FY 24 Range: $290,272 to $300,000; Average award: $289,712 FY 25 est Range $291,651 to $300,000; Average award $298,360 Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program FY 23: Range $48,600 to $199,000; Average award $115,713 FY 24: Range $64,800 to $250,000; Average award $158,920 FY 25 est Range $81,000 to $300,000: Average award $202,070
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.059. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.Recently closed under 93.059
| Opportunity | Status | Award range | Closes | ALN |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Postdoctoral Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health DentistryHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $450K | Mar 18, 2025 | 93.059 |
Dental Faculty Loan Repayment ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Amount not specified | Mar 3, 2023 | 93.059 |
Dental Faculty Loan Repayment ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Amount not specified | Mar 22, 2022 | 93.059 |
Frequently asked questions
What is ALN 93.059?
93.059 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.
Who can apply under ALN 93.059?
The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: State, Not-for-Profit Organization, Local, Nonprofit Organization and Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.
How much funding does 93.059 provide?
The agency reported $23,325,940 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.