Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was March 22, 2022. Total estimated funding is $800K across about 8 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.059 (Training in General, Pediatric, and Public Health Dentistry).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Dec 22, 2021Posted
- Mar 22, 2022Application deadline
- Posted
- Dec 22, 2021
- Close date
- Mar 22, 2022
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $800,000
- Implied average award
- $100,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 8
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.059, not this notice): Postdoctoral Training in General, Pediatric and Public Health Dentistry FY 23 Range: $405,941 to $650,000; Average award: $526,294 FY 24 Range $392,612 to $650,000, Average award: $512,938 FY 25 est Range $400,000 -$450,000; Average Award: $450,000 Predoctoral Training in General, Pediatric and Public Health Dentistry and Dental Hygiene FY 23: Range: $292.626 to $300,000; Average award: $298,660 FY 24 Range: $290,272 to $300,000; Average award: $289,712 FY 25 est Range $291,651 to $300,000; Average award $298,360 Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program FY 23: Range $48,600 to $199,000; Average award $115,713 FY 24: Range $64,800 to $250,000; Average award $158,920 FY 25 est Range $81,000 to $300,000: Average award $202,070
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible entities are programs of general, pediatric, or public health dentistry in public or private nonprofit dental or dental hygiene schools, or approved residency or advanced education programs in the practice of general, pediatric, or public health dentistry. You must submit accreditation documentation for the relevant training program in Attachment 7, as identified in Section IV.5 of this NOFO. Current recipients of awards under the 2018 Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program (HRSA-18-120) and the 2021 Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program (HRSA-21-019) are not eligible to apply for this NOFO. Entities outside the United States and its territories are not eligible to apply for this NOFO.
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program.
The purpose of this program is to increase the number of dental and dental hygiene faculty in the workforce by assisting dental and dental hygiene training programs to attract and retain dental and dental hygiene faculty through the operation of a loan repayment program.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.059
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
ocobb@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $800,000 and the agency expects to make about 8 awards.
How do I apply for “Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-22-046), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Centers of Excellence (COE)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $1 – $686K
- Est. close
- Feb 2, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Administrative and Resource Center
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- May 25, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Coordinating Center
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jun 5, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Dental Primary Care Practice-Based Research Network: Clinical Trial or Observational Study Planning and Implementation Cooperative Agreement
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Sep 7, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NIDCR Dual Degree Dentist Scientist Pathway to Independence Award (K99/R00 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
HEAL Initiative: Pain Management Effectiveness Research Network: Clinical Trial Planning and Implementation Cooperative Agreement (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jan 5, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more