Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP) is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was April 19, 2021. Individual awards are listed as $200K – $400K, with about 29 awards expected and $33.3M in total estimated funding. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.136 (Injury Prevention and Control Research and State and Community Based Programs).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Posted
- Feb 18, 2021
- Close date
- Apr 19, 2021
- Est. award date
- Jul 2, 2021
- Award floor
- $200,000
- Award ceiling
- $400,000
- Est. total funding
- $33,250,000
- Expected awards
- 29
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Bona fide agents are eligible to apply. For more information about bona fide agents, please see the CDC webpage on Expediting the Federal Grant Process with an Administrative Partner located at https://www.cdc.gov/publichealthgateway/grantsfunding/expediting.html#Q2. The award floor for this NOFO for the first budget period is $200,000 and the award ceiling is $400,000 for BASE and ENHANCED applications. CDC will consider any application requesting lower than $200,000 for BASE alone or higher than $400,000 for BASE and ENHANCED combined non-responsive and it will receive no further review. A letter of commitment from the state health department officer on official letterhead supporting proposed activities is required. Letters of support from a) a multi-sectoral partner and b) the disproportionally-affected population are required. An organizational chart is required. Documentation of access to the most recent primary data, to include 2018 or 2019 mortality and hospitalization data is required. Access should be documented in labeled tables and provide a state/territory wide summary of 2018 or 2019 mortality and hospitalization data analyzed by age, sex, and cause.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) supports health department infrastructure, data and partnerships to identify and respond to existing and emerging injury threats with data-driven public health actions. These actions are intended to increase protective factors and reduce risk factors using the best available evidence for injuries and death. Such an approach includes engaging in robust data and surveillance, strengthening strategic collaborations and partnerships, and conducting assessment and evaluation. The overall goal of this approach is to inform public health action for injury prevention. An enhanced funding component is available for recipients to implement and evaluate prevention strategies while incorporating novel surveillance activities, with the goal of contributing practice-based evidence to strengthen the overall evidence base for injury prevention. While all recipients will focus their strategic efforts on prevention of traumatic brain injury (TBI), transportation-related injury, and Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACES), recipients are also encouraged to examine their data and flex up to 25% of their award to address identified priority injury topics of local concern (i.e. drowning, older adult falls, or suicide).
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.136
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC
coresipp2021@cdc.gov
770-488-2756
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)”?
The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.
How much funding is available through “Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $200k – $400k, total estimated program funding is $33,250,000 and the agency expects to make about 29 awards.
How do I apply for “Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-CE21-2101), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- $650K – $1.2M
- Est. close
- Apr 17, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Supporting Community Application of Life-Saving Evidence to Prevent Injury and Violence (SCALE)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Apr 6, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Preventing Violence Affecting Young Lives (PREVAYL 2.0)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- $450K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments and City or township governments
Modernizing Violent Death and Suicide Surveillance Using the National Violent Death Reporting System (NVDRS)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Up to $966K
- Est. close
- May 4, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Rigorously Evaluating Approaches to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Problematic Sexual Behavior among Youth
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $400K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more