Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program – Competing Continuation (Year 6)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program – Competing Continuation (Year 6) is a forecasted federal grant opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of March 31, 2027; forecast dates can change. Individual awards are listed as up to $125K, with about 50 awards expected and $31.3M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts, public colleges & universities and 6 more. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.276 (Drug-Free Communities Support Program Grants).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Posted
- Jul 28, 2026
- Est. close date
- Mar 31, 2027
- Est. award date
- Aug 30, 2027
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $125,000
- Est. total funding
- $31,250,000
- Expected awards
- 50
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2027
Who can apply
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants are community-based coalitions addressing youth substance use that have previously received a DFC grant (Year 1–5), have experienced a lapse in funding, or have concluded the first five-year funding cycle and are applying for a second five-year funding cycle.A DFC legal applicant (an organization applying on behalf of a coalition, the coalition, or the applicant coalition) must reside within the United States and/or the U.S. territories.Applicants must be a nonprofit (as defined by the IRS as a 501(c) organization); or an entity that the Administrator determines to be appropriate; or part of, or is associated with an established legally recognized domestic, public or private nonprofit organization.These entities can include state and local governments, federally recognized tribes, state-recognized tribes, urban Indian organizations (as defined in Pub. L. No. 94-437), public or private universities and colleges, professional associations, voluntary organizations, self-help groups, consumer and provider services-oriented constituency groups, community- and faith-based organizations, and tribal organizations. (Pub. L. No. 114-198 Sec 103).For the purposes of this NOFO and the DFC Support Program, a coalition is defined as a community-based formal arrangement for cooperation and collaboration among groups or sectors of a community in which each group retains its identity, but all agree to work together toward a common goal of building a safe, healthy, and drug-free community.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program was created by the Drug-Free Communities Act of 1997 (Public Law 105-20). The Executive Office of the President, Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP), and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC) are accepting applications for Fiscal Year (FY) 2026 Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program Grants.
The purpose of the DFC Support Program is to establish and strengthen collaborations to support the efforts of community coalitions working to prevent and reduce substance use among youth.
By statute, the DFC Support Program has two goals: 1) Establish and strengthen the collaboration among communities, public and private non-profit agencies, as well as federal, state, local, and tribal governments to support the efforts of community coalitions working to prevent and reduce substance use among youth (individuals 18 years of age and younger).
2) Reduce substance use among youth and, over time, reduce substance use among adults by addressing the factors in a community that increases the risk of substance use and promoting the factors that minimize the risk of substance use.
This funding opportunity will fund applicants who have concluded the first (Year 1 – 5) funding cycle or have experienced a lapse in funding.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.276
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Christi Jones
DFC_NOFO@cdc.gov
000-000-0000
Quick answers
Is “Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program – Competing Continuation (Year 6)” open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around January 26, 2027. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for “Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program – Competing Continuation (Year 6)”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program – Competing Continuation (Year 6)”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $125k, total estimated program funding is $31,250,000 and the agency expects to make about 50 awards.
How do I apply for “Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program – Competing Continuation (Year 6)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-CE22-22050601CONT27), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program – NEW (Year 1)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Up to $125K
- Est. close
- Mar 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments and 9 more
Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Supporting Community Application of Life-Saving Evidence to Prevent Injury and Violence (SCALE)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Apr 6, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- $650K – $1.2M
- Est. close
- Apr 17, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Modernizing Violent Death and Suicide Surveillance Using the National Violent Death Reporting System (NVDRS)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Up to $966K
- Est. close
- May 4, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Preventing Violence Affecting Young Lives (PREVAYL 2.0)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- $450K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments and City or township governments