Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity PAR-27-078

Research Enhancement Award Program (REAP) for Health Professional Schools and Graduate Schools (R15 Clinical Trial Required)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Research Enhancement Award Program (REAP) for Health Professional Schools and Graduate Schools (R15 Clinical Trial Required) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due October 25, 2027. Individual awards are listed as up to $375K. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.172 (Human Genome Research) and 18 other listings.

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
May 29, 2026
Close date
Oct 25, 2027
Archive date
Dec 24, 2027
Est. award date
Dec 25, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$375,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Refer to Section III. Eligibility Information in the NOFO for additional information on eligibility.Foreign Organizations/International Collaborations:Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply.Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply.Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The purpose of the Research Enhancement Award Program (REAP) for Health Professional Schools and Graduate Schools is to support small scale research grants at institutions that do not receive substantial funding from the NIH, with an emphasis on providing biomedical research experiences primarily for health professional, undergraduate and graduate students and enhancing the research environment at applicant institutions.Eligible institutions must award baccalaureate or advanced science degrees and have received no more than $6 million dollars per year of NIH support (in both direct and F&A/indirect costs) in 4 of the last 7 fiscal years. For institutions composed of multiple schools and colleges, the $6 million funding limit is based on the amount of NIH funding received by all the schools and colleges within the institution as a whole.Help determining the Organization Funding Level can be found here or https://grants.nih.gov/grants/funding/r15.htmThis REAP Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) supports investigator-initiated mechanistic and/or minimal risk clinical trials addressing the mission and research interests of the participating NIH institutes. For purposes of this NOFO, minimal risk clinical trials are defined as those that do not require FDA oversight, do not intend to formally establish efficacy, and have low risks to potentially cause physical or psychological harm.

Assistance Listings

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.172

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$453M
FY25$424M
FY26$9.99M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.172. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institutes of Health
NIA-NOFO-GrantsContacts@nih.gov
301-402-2541

Quick answers

When is the deadline for this opportunity?

According to the official notice, applications are due October 25, 2027. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $375k.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-27-078), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.